Coronavirus/COVID-19 Prayers

Specially written prayers for you to use in the pandemic.

William Lister
4 min readMar 4, 2020

--

We need to pray together at a time like this. Picture courtesy of Pixabay

Many of our churches here in northern Italy are closed right now and people have been asking me to help them to pray in this coronavirus crisis. There is a lot of fear, especially when the “enemy” is invisible and could be anywhere.

Prayer is the ultimate mindfulness. It places events and experiences into their true perspective. It focusses our energy on the positive around us. I also believe that these prayers will be answered by the God who made us and loves us.

I’ve written these prayers to help you in this current situation, whether you are religious or not.

You don’t need to close your eyes, kneel down, or hold your hands together. Prayer is about talking to God in the same way as you would talk to a close friend or a loving relative. Just say the words in your head, or out loud if you prefer, but feel comfortable and know that someone has already heard you and answered your need at this time.

I hope they help you and bring you reassurance.

A prayer for use by someone who doesn’t believe in God

Dear God. I don’t even know if you exist or if I’m just talking to myself, but I know I need help to face my fears…

--

--

William Lister

Father William Lister is a former military chaplain, author and chef. He is a serving chaplain for the Diocese in Europe in Tuscany, Italy. twinclianpress.com